Harris County Child Protective Services is now investigating after a baby boy was left at a safe haven site.
The child was left in a stroller outside of Fire Station #39 in northwest Harris County Monday morning. The child is reportedly between four and seven months old. Estella Olguin with CPS says the child may be too old to fall under the Texas Baby Moses Law, "The law specifies that the child must be a newborn, zero to 60 days."
The Texas Baby Moses Law offers immunity to parents who surrender their children over to the state within 60 days of birth. Since this child is older, law enforcement could press child abandonment charges against the parents.
Olguin says they are now looking for the parents of the child to verify the intent to surrender it to the state. Anyone with information on the case is asked to call Harris County Child Protective Services.